I am a second-year PhD student in Linguistics at the University of Maryland. I'm primarily a syntactician, but I also work on morphology and semantics (the latter both experimentally and analytically). My advisors are Jeff Lidz and Alexander Williams. Before starting my graduate work, I read Philosophy & Linguistics at the University of Oxford, and was awarded a Congratulatory First Class. To find out more about my work, click here.

When not working on linguistics, I enjoy games (video and table-top), running, and reading. I am occasionally found at the College Park Parkrun. I also listen to a lot of 90's alternative rock. My favourite band is Sleater-Kinney.

I was born in Dahanu, India, and moved to the United Kingdom in 2007, when I was six years old. My heritage language is Gujarati. When I am not in Maryland, I live in Dorset, England.

I used to be an unreflective vegetarian (because it is the default in some parts of India), and then I started eating meat at around 8 or 9. I made the decision to become vegetarian again when 17 (for both environmental and animal-ethical reasons). If you are curious, maybe start here.

My pronouns are he/him/his. I am happy to be addressed as 'Mal' ([mal]) or 'Malhaar', which can be pronounced either [malhɑːɹ] or [mʌlhɑːɾ]. I share this name with a raga, which has a legend associated with it. If you are citing something I wrote or said, I prefer to be cited as "Malhaar Shah", but "Mal Shah" is also perfectly fine.

Me in my favourite burger place in the world (Peppers Burgers, Jericho, Oxford).

mpshah at umd dot edu